One Last Hurrah Part I

My surgeon likes to say, “If you enjoy bread, eat it now”. (I’m paraphrasing, but you get the idea.) Bread and certain other foods have a tendency to get stuck in the band. I realized that before surgery would be a good time to have a last helping of various foods that I won’t be able to eat anymore for various reasons—either they’d get stuck or they’re restaurant portions that are too big for me to be able to justify buying after I get the band, that sort of thing. My surgery has been scheduled for February 27th, so I’ve been trying to check things off my bucket list.

As this is part of the experience, I thought I would include it in the blog. Due to the numerous items on my list (gee, who’d have guessed there’s be numerous items on the list), I’m going to break this up over a couple of posts so as to be less overwhelming.

In no particular order, here are meals I’ve been enjoying since I found out when my surgery was scheduled for.

Outback Steakhouse
Outback is one of our favorite places to go, particularly for special occasions. The food is good, the service at the location nearest us is typically excellent, and the price isn’t bad for what you get. Outback is home to these diabolical things:

Aussie Fries

Those are Aussie Fries, which are French fries smothered in cheese, sprinkled in bacon, and served with ranch dressing for dipping. …yeah, they aren’t the healthiest things in the world. Since amount of food I can eat with the band will be severely curtailed, I’m going to need to make everything I eat count. Due to its poor nutritional value, this dish will be firmly on the Do Not East list.

To drink I had the rather embarrassingly named Wallaby Darned (with a water chaser).

Wallaby Darned

This cocktail is pretty much the only alcoholic thing I drink because I can’t taste the alcohol…which is amazing, because it’s a combination of peaches, champagne, vodka, and schnapps. So it’s not just alcoholic, it’s pretty damn alcoholic.

And for my entrée, I had a steak, garlic mashed potatoes, and snow crab legs.

Steak, garlic mashed potatoes, and snow crab legs

Not pictured: The side salad and bread I ate.

The Journey
The Journey is the best Chinese buffet I’ve ever been to. All the food is freshly prepared right behind the serving stations, so it’s all hot and delicious by the time you get to it. They have a wide variety of Asian cuisine, including a good selection of sushi—which is also freshly prepared right behind the serving station. I doubt I’ll ever be going here again once I have the band in place because I’m not going to be able to eat very much.

California rolls, tomago, kani, crab rangoon, rice noodles, and various other bits of delicious

To drink, I had water, because I stopped drinking soda a long time ago. And for dessert I had one butter cookie, half of a mini-éclair, and a chocolate covered strawberry (did I mention this place has a four-story chocolate fondue fountain?).

Homemade Chinese Food
One of the things my husband and I bought with money gifted to us when we got married is a deep fryer. We use it for, among other things, making crab rangoon. Otherwise known as this stuff:

Rangoon in the works

A pile of gloriousness

The filling consists of imitation crab meat, cream cheese, grated carrots, tofu, garlic, soy sauce, and Worcestershire sauce. The reason I expect to not eat these again is because they take for-bloody-ever to make, and I don’t know that I’ll feel like making them if I can’t eat that many of them. Also, they’re kinda bready, and I’d be afraid they’d get stuck in the band. Plus there’s the questionable nutritional content, yatta yatta.

The rest of this meal consisted of fried rice (steamed, white rice fried on the stove with butter, soy sauce, shredded carrots, eggs, and tofu), and prepackaged chicken things that we heated in the stove.

Homemade crab rangoon and fried rice with prepackaged chicken added

Not pictured: The apple tea we had to drink. Apple tea is black tea steeped in apple juice, sweetened with sugar.

This food was prepared with the help of my husband and a very dear friend, and in the company of new friends that I’m enjoying getting to know better. We then gorged on the delicious fruits of our labors and played card games until after midnight. All in all, the evening was a rousing success.

Still on the list: Burritos, cupcakes, and fondue.

One thing that’s been on my mind during this is that I will be sad when I’m no longer able to eat these things, or eat these things in the way in which I am accustomed. (I’ll still be able to have steak and mashed potatoes, but I don’t know that I’ll be able to justify paying for huge portions I can’t eat. Those food items, at least, reheat well.)

It feels like a friend and I are parting ways on genial but permanent terms. …which is really weird, because it’s freakin’ food. So here’s an Important Question:

Why do I have such a strong emotional connection to food?

Food is not a family member. Food is not a friend. Food is not any type of loved one, it’s not a childhood memento, it’s not a place I used to live. It’s…food. It is sustenance. It is a thing I put into my body so that my body may continue to function. I’m not saying that it’s not ok to enjoy it, but why the strong emotional connection?

I’m not expecting the answer to this to reveal itself any time soon, but it’s something I’ve been thinking about. It would definitely be a good thing to discuss with a counselor.

Next up: A pre-surgery visit to the dietitian, followed by a pre-surgery diet change (hint: It’s gonna be pretty restrictive).

2 thoughts on “One Last Hurrah Part I

  1. Heather says:

    Food offers comfort and pleasure to people like you and I. It’s a hard thing to give up.

    • Astrid says:

      It is indeed. It’s been pretty worth it so far, though. I’ve noticed increased energy and more positive overall mood since I cut back on the carbs.

Leave a Reply

