One Last Hurrah Part II

Time left until surgery: 18 days

As such, burrito.

Qdoba

Burrito and chips and queso

This is likely nothing special to anyone but me. All it is a burrito from Qdoba with ground sirloin, lettuce, and cheese (and rice, because oops). Also, I had chips and queso with it. It was delicious.

Classic Cakes Cupcakes
Classic Cakes is a local small business that makes some of the most amazing damn baked goods in the world. They also make amazing buttercream icing. What’s so amazing about their icing? I don’t know. All I know is that I hate buttercream icing, but theirs I will happily eat with a spoon.

My wedding cake was made by one of their very talented employees, as was my husband’s groom’s cake.

Luckily, they also make things to satisfy cravings for their delicious products that aren’t meant to serve several hundred people. Like these bastards.

White cupcake with white buttercream icing

That picture does not do them justice. I have one more of these at home, and I plan to consume it with relish once I get back from Capricon.

Puccini’s Smiling Teeth
Apart from being a really strange name, Puccini’s Smiling Teeth is a joint that does really good pizza. My favorite combination is bacon and feta cheese.

Bacon and feta cheese pizza

Om. Nom.

The Melting Pot
I’ve you’ve never been to The Melting Pot, you’ve lived a sad life. I’ve only ever been twice. I won’t be able to go again because it’s expensive and I won’t be able to eat much, so I couldn’t justify the cost of going. But ohmygodfondue.

Cheese fondue

This photograph represents the only time in my life I’ve ever gotten inebriated by eating cheese. There’s beer in that cheese. It set in pretty quickly.

Next, there was salad…which is salad, so I’m not going to bother putting a picture of it up. It’s salad.

And then it was time for the main course.

Melting Pot entree

That is pork, beef, duck, lobster tail, and pasta, and it was all mine. If you’re not familiar with The Melting Pot, you cook everything yourself in the heated fondue pot that’s on your table. It’s a nice combination of a unique dining experience and amazingly delicious food. And then…there’s dessert.

Dessert

We dipped that stuff in a chocolate/peanut butter mixture. Then wandered home and passed out in a food coma (mine was helped along by the fact that I was still buzzed not only from the cheese, but by the cooking medium in which we cook our entrée, which had wine in it).

This meal also served as a nice early Valentine’s Day celebration. We will not be doing any sort of special food-thing for Valentine’s Day this year, because by then I will be on my restricted diet in preparation for surgery.

Also as part of my One Last Hurrah, I had a Turkey Tom from Jimmy John’s with chips and one of their amazing cookies, a Philly cheesesteak sandwich and fries from Penn Station, and a sausage and egg McGriddle from McDonald’s (which is pretty much the only thing from there that I can stomach anymore). I didn’t take pictures of those because they aren’t quite as grandiose as the other things, and for the one I was at work, for the next I was on my way to band practice, and for the last I was on my way to a gig.

Before I started this One Last Hurrah, I had already started slipping back into my bad habit of eating until I was in physical pain. Since starting this One Last Hurrah, I think I’ve gotten a bit worse about it. After all, I know that soon I won’t be able to eat most of this stuff anymore, so I should enjoy it while I’m able to. While I have relished partaking in some of my favorite dishes one last time, I can emphatically say that I will not miss being able to eat this much. I will not miss eating so much that breathing becomes awkward. And I look forward to getting into counseling so that maybe I can find better psychological tools to keep myself from wanting to eat such large quantities of food.

And that’s pretty much it for the One Last Hurrah. I have my pre-surgery meeting with a dietitian on Tuesday. I’m looking forward to starting on a more restrictive diet. I’m looking forward to having things that will prevent me from eating so much apart from, “It’s bad for me”, which apparently isn’t enough motivation. And I look forward to the 27th, which, from what I’ve heard from other bariatric patients, is likely to be the first day of a new, better life for me. I’m definitely keeping my fingers crossed.

2 thoughts on “One Last Hurrah Part II

  1. Heather says:

    I don’t know many people who *can* stomach anything from McDonald’s anymore. I don’t think that’s a bad thing for us 😛

Leave a Reply

