Gold Star

This blog is as much about celebrating victories as it is venting frustrations and admitting failures. Today, I have a victory to celebrate.

My office had some sort of training/informative seminar…thing…today. Management purchased cupcakes as a treat for the participants. I think they purchased a few gross of them, because by the time the whole thing was said and done, they had dozens and dozens of these cupcakes left. They even had our new manager pushing a table–not a cart, a table–of them around the office to try and unload the extras. I wanted one. I really wanted one. But I knew one would turn into two and two would turn into three and three would turn into a whole box that I would take home for later because they were trying to get rid of them anyway. My area was told multiple times today that there were cupcakes. Everyone around me had one.

I did not.

For someone who generally has little to no willpower when it comes to food, I think I have a reason to be proud.

So now I am at home eating a sugar free popsicle and feeling good about the fact that I did not have a cupcake. There’s still that odd emotional part of me that feels it was cheated, somehow, because there were cupcakes, and I refused to eat any. But I’m trying to ignore it this time.

Oh, and also? My pre-surgery weight check was today.

I passed.

Surgery time: 6:00 am Eastern, Wednesday, February 27th

5 thoughts on “Gold Star

  1. Alisa Cohen says:

    Way to go, Kattling! Declining something presented as a “treat” is hard on all sorts of levels. Big hugs!

  2. Astrid says:

    Thank you! I feel quite accomplished.

  3. Heather says:

    I have to say, that’s one of those things that makes me angry about working in a craft store. Specifically *this* craft store. There is exactly ONE male in the store. One. Which means that everyone’s idea of bringing in a treat is to bring in desserts. Even the manager…well, I don’t work during the day much, but she bribes people to do things she wants by giving them chocolate. And the day shift workers come to expect it as much as we night shift workers start to expect the cupcakes and cakes from the Wilton classes to be left for us. But why desserts? Not only are employers “rewarding” their employees with something bad for their health, but they are also excluding any diabetics or dieting people present. Perhaps that is one of the reasons why we–and so many other Americans–have that emotional problem with food. It’s used all too often as a reward, so we learn to associate eating with doing something especially well. Ranting aside, I applaud your ability to say no because too many of us fail that test.

  4. Astrid says:

    That may be one of the reasons I have such a big emotional connection to food. Due to certain quirks in my personality, I’m one of those with an excessive desire to please authority figures. Since treats can be a primary way in which authority figures demonstrate that they’re happy with something I’ve done–particularly parents–that might have caused me to latch on to that particular type of feelgood.

    I’m also pretty entitled.

    “I did really well at school today, so I deserve a treat.”

    “I had a really shitty day today, so I deserve something sweet.”

    And I’m quite good at justifying and coming up with reasons why it’s ok to have this or have that…

  5. […] recommend it, but that it was more because it’s like opening Pandora’s Box. I think I managed to do ok with that. So I excused myself from work for twenty minutes, drove down the street, and […]

Leave a Reply

