Some Links for Your Consideration

The day after my surgery, my husband stepped out to run some errands for a few things that we didn’t realize until after the fact would help me be more comfortable at home. While he was out, he heard an interesting story on NPR:

“How The Food Industry Manipulates Taste Buds With ‘Salt Sugar Fat'”

I already knew that advertisers do some pretty heinous things to promote their products, but if you read an excerpt from the book, it becomes disgustingly clear just how heinous some of their actions are. Take this little gem, for example:

“Woodruff, however, had another insight — this one not as frequently discussed in the business school case studies — that would help take the company from solid to spectacular. He figured out how to tap into people’s emotions better than anyone else in the industry of consumer goods, whether food or beer or cigarettes. His method didn’t require slogans or celebrity endorsements or the kind of money the company would spend every year on advertising, though all those things helped. It went deeper than that. It focused on getting Coke into the hands of people, especially kids, when they were most vulnerable to persuasion — those moments when they were happy. That is how Coke came to be partners with America’s favorite pastime. “The story they always tell at Coke,” Dunn said, “is Mr. Woodruff saying, ‘When I was a kid, my father took me to my first baseball game, and there was nothing more sacred to me than that moment with my father. And what did I have to drink? I had an ice-cold Coke, which became part of that sacred moment.'”

Suddenly anyone who’s sued a fast food chain for making them fat doesn’t sound too ludicrous anymore, do they?

This article led me to another very interesting read, “Overeating, Like Drug Use, Rewards And Alters Brain”.

In this article, it is mentioned that “‘…it is similar to what happens in cases of chronic drug abuse…The reward circuitry changes in a similar way, and that promotes the seeking of that drug, or in our case, in seeking palatable food.'”

Huh. Well whaddya know.

There’s also some interesting insight in the article, “Remembering A Vivid Description Of Food Addiction”.

If anyone has any thoughts on any of the above, I’d love to hear them. Consider the floor wide open for discussion if anyone has anything to say.

3 thoughts on “Some Links for Your Consideration

  1. coemaria says:

    There is a documentary coming to town that is called “A Place at the Table”. It talks about how so many children are becoming obese and that most of those children are considered below the poverty line. I really want to go see it, but I doubt David will want to see it because it is a documentary.

    It scares me that food is a complete drug for me, especially sugar. I was talking to my doctor on Monday and she brought up a very valid point. Sugar isn’t natural. Oh, it comes from sugar cane and what-not, but it is so processed that it no longer of any nutritional value. I never thought of it like that before.

    I know that when I was a child, my Papaw said I could read all the restaurant/fast food signs from so far away. I always knew the food. I mean, we’re talking like 4-5-6 years old. Think about McDonald’s. What is their biggest marketing niche? Children.

    *hugs* I really do understand. It’s hard for me to not go places that I used to love and have the foods that I thought would bring me such joy. All those foods did was mask and bury the emotions that I’ve been trying to avoid for years.

    *hugs*

  2. Astrid says:

    Hmm. Well, if you want a buddy, I’d go with you : )

    Unfortunately, like it says in that second article, certain things in food are actually habit forming. What’s more, just like any other drug, addicts develop a resistance to them, and so we need more and more of them over time in order to get our fix. And yeah, that’s pretty scary.

  3. […] Continuing an earlier theme, I wanted to share this NPR article: How Did Our Brains Evolve To Equate Food With Love? I thought it might be of interest. Cheers! […]

Leave a Reply

