Status Update #1

Today was the first of my monthly post-op meetings with my surgeon. I will be expected to see him once a month for at least the next year to discuss my weight loss progress, see how I’m doing in general, and possibly get a band adjustment. Each month when I have these meetings, I also want to check in with all of you, too. I think progress reports are just as important for the effectiveness of this blog as honesty and openness.

Plus I look forward to showing off how well I’m doing when I’m doing well.

Weight on day of surgery: 239.2 lbs
Weight today: 226.6 lbs
Total lost: 12.6 lbs

Not bad for only a few weeks. I should note, also, that I weigh myself at home—the other day I was around 222 lbs—but that the measurements I’ll be posting here are my weight at the doctor’s office. This is always slightly different because at the doctor’s office I am clothed and wearing shoes, and usually have eaten recently. At home, I weigh myself first thing in the morning.

Today my surgeon and I agreed that it was not time for a band adjustment. For one, I haven’t returned to a regular diet yet, and for two, there’s still a lot of stuff I’m getting used to. So we’ll meet again at the end of next month and assess how I’m doing.

But in any case, the people around me are already starting to notice a difference in how I look. I’m noticing a difference not only in how I look, but also in how I feel and how my clothes fit me. I expect that my weight loss will slow down once I start eating solid food again and my portion sizes increase a bit because the swelling in my stomach has finally gone down. But I can’t wait to see where I am a month from now.

Status Update #1

Horrible lighting is horrible. Also, I have the flyaway-iest of hair.

And one last note. Since all of the bandages applied during surgery are now gone (I was instructed to wait for them to fall off on their own), I have been slathering my incision sites in Neosporin® and applying new bandages. I’m hoping this will completely prevent scarring, particularly as one of the post-surgery activities I look forward to is bellydancing. I can highly recommend this sort of post-op self-treatment if you are yourself pursuing bariatric surgery. My surgeon even seemed to think this was a most excellent idea.

5 thoughts on “Status Update #1

  1. coemaria says:

    Way to go, hon. I know this hasn’t been easy for you, but we know that you are doing this for your health. I think it’s awesome. I pray for you daily. Love you.

  2. Mom says:

    Congrats! Moms cheer their kids getting bigger. Now, I get to cheer my ‘baby’ getting smaller!

    I met with my WLS surgeon today and she’s approved me for the surgery i want. All I need now is my insurance company to agree to pay for it… That should get submitted this week, I hope.

    • Astrid says:

      …WLS stands for “weight-loss surgery”?

      Good luck with insurance. I’m still unspeakably thrilled I only had to pay about $1,400.00 out of pocket for mine. And the payment went out yesterday! Talk about a load off my mind.

  3. […] then, the obligatory status update photograph. I’m not sure I look that much different from last month, but here it is anyway: Your moment of TMI for the day: I am in that special and awkward place […]

Leave a Reply

