Articles for Wednesday

I am not the only one I know who is currently battling with an overeating problem. Whereas I opted for surgery and all the mostly-inflexible limitations involved, a friend of mine is active in Overeaters Anonymous. We’re both doing very well. And today she shared an interesting article, Confessions of a Food Addict by Denise Wolfe. I thought it was pertinent to this blog.

I especially empathized with this part:

“People could disappoint me … food never did. I ate whether bored, angry, elated, tired, happy, frustrated, bonding with friends, lonely, celebrating, tired. And, like most addicts, along with the food, I stuffed down feelings I didn’t want to deal with.”

Food is often used for self-comfort, even by people who don’t necessarily have an eating disorder. Been there, still trying not to do that.

On the other side is Excuse-proof your workout by Jenny Everett on Health.com.

I foresee a walk in my future for this evening.

2 thoughts on “Articles for Wednesday

  1. coemaria says:

    Glad I could be of help. It is very true that food had NEVER disappointed me. People do, things do, but food? Never. It’s so hard to not want to run to the food when I am sad, excited, or in the middle of some ginormous panic attack that seems like it will never end.

    I also need to start getting on some sort of movement/action plan. Yeah, I may be eating better, but my physical isn’t going to get better without me actually taking some… action. I make tons of excuses, like I don’t have time, I’m too tired, or I just don’t want to. Well, if I don’t, I am going to start going back down that damn slippery slope right back into food.

    In OA, we have an analogy that I love. It talks about a three-legged stool. The three legs of that stool are – emotional, spiritual, and physical health. If one of those legs is even the slightest bit off, the other 2 will be off, too. Right now, I have 2 that are very off (spiritual and physical), and so the emotional is trying to take all of the weight of my recovery and it has its days where it just gets weak… very weak.

    *hugs*

    Thank you for sharing everything you do. It is a tremendous help to my recovery.

    Love you!

  2. Astrid says:

    I hear ya about that whole self-comfort thing. Saying “it sucks” doesn’t even begin to describe it.

    And I have to wonder if that sort of behavior is learned or instinctual. I know I’m not the only member of my immediate or extended family who uses food as a means of self-comfort, so I’m curious what effects why an individual starts to do something like that.

    For the physical, I highly recommend starting with a twenty minute walk. It’s so easy. All you have to do is set a ten minute alarm on your phone, walk until the alarm goes off, and then turn right back around the way you came and go home. Simple as that. You can take a water bottle to make sure you’re getting enough hydration, and it’s spring! There are flowers blooming fuckin’ EVERYWHERE! Get out and enjoy some flowers!

    The walks are also good for some downtime, which I know everyone needs for their own mental health. Said downtime is also a good opportunity to play with ideas for creative projects you’re working on ; )

    Here’s hoping I can squeeze in a walk tonight. Thankfully we walked a lot when we were in Toronto because–pfft, it’s Toronto–and then for P-con we were in a hotel across the street from the con hotel, so yay, more walking! But now that I’m home, I need to get better about exercising. I’m not working as late tonight though, so I should have plenty of time for walkies.

Leave a Reply

