Status Update #6

September was an interesting month.

Weight on day of surgery: 239.2 lbs
Weight last month: 183 lbs
Weight today: 179.4 lbs
Total lost: 59.8 lbs

It was effectively the exact opposite of August in terms of weight loss. I am freaking out about it less than I might otherwise be, however, because there’s a good reason why I barely lost anything since my last status update.

A day or two after last month’s update, I went back in to see my surgeon because I still wasn’t able to eat anything. He removed all of .5 CC of fluid from my band—apparently the band was not completely empty upon implantation as I thought, but did contain a baseline amount of fluid—to loosen things up so I could eat again. When the size of one’s stomach is significantly reduced by a physical object and then the tissues around the object are really, really enflamed, it makes it pretty difficult to ingest anything. I was even starting to feel uncomfortable drinking Ensure right before he loosened my band.

But once the inflammation finally died down, this newfound room in my stomach did what it was supposed to do: It allowed me to eat. It allowed me to eat a lot more than the band had previously been allowing. So ate I did, and as a result, I only lost around three pounds last month.

This potentially means that I still haven’t hit the point at which my weight loss just naturally slows down on its own, so, as I said, I’m not freaking out about it. Yet. My surgeon replaced the fluid he removed last month when I visited him today, so we’ll see what happens in October. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I can get back on track. It’s amazing how horrible it can make one feel to suddenly not lose as much weight anymore after a period of fairly regular weight loss.

Also, my doctor provided me with the name of a psychologist who he says works with patients in need of addiction counseling. This is a thing I’ve been intending to do for a while, and before this month, I was doing reasonably well managing on my own just because I physically couldn’t eat a lot of junk. I noticed a marked difference in my portion sizes with just that tiny amount of fluid missing from my band, however, so the monster is once again rearing its ugly head. It doesn’t help that we’re coming up on the Season of Gorging, where “enough” has to come with third and fourth helpings of all of the everything.

I hope the beginning of fall finds everyone well. I am, in addition to looking forward to once again having a more restricted diet, working on the first of my next two albums, planning for next year, and looking to take on more freelance work.

May this harvest season bring you all the fruits of your labors.


Ps. There isn’t a photo for this status update because my appearance really hasn’t changed much since last month.

3 thoughts on “Status Update #6

  1. coemaria says:

    I completely understand. I do. It’s so hard to cope with the stressors of life (whether those be good or bad) without shoving food in my face. It also doesn’t help that every celebration we have, we have food and in abundance. Thank you for being a rock of support when I feel like I am floating into the void of nothingness. You are beautiful, amazing, and I’m so proud of you.

  2. Astrid says:

    Ugh, I know. “SOMETHING AWESOME HAPPENED! Here, eat up, motherfuckers!”

    Thank you for being there for me, too ❤

  3. […] direction. We are still trying to find the sweet spot (well, what I feel is a sweet spot) after what happened in August, where I’m not having issues with being hungry all the time, and am still actively losing […]

Leave a Reply

