“What No One Tells You About Losing Lots of Weight”

I’m a little hesitant to post this, because I found the large majority of the article to be a little discouraging, but I do think that it contains some useful food for thought. And it’s sort of a follow-up to my last post, as it mentions the same photography project. Read What No One Tells You About Losing Lots of Weight, by Alexandria Symonds.

If anyone out there reading would care to respond, what were your assumptions about losing a lot of weight before you did so? Do you feel they were realistic? Have they been realized?

I assumed I would feel better about myself. I assumed also that my body would just feel better in general–I knew it would be easier to move and be active and sing and just exist without there being so much of me. I assumed I would feel better about the way I look. I assumed I would like myself better as a person. I assumed I would feel more attractive to other people.

I’m still not sure if that last one has been realized, though I am often complimented by people who know me on how much better I look. As for the rest of it, it’s all happening as I’m losing the weight. I will say that I do still look in the mirror and yearn to be thinner and then wonder what’s wrong with me–I’ve lost nearly 70 pounds, after all! …but then I’m also still not at my ideal weight yet (that would be the weight that I, personally, feel is my ideal weight), and I am not fond of having a gut. …mostly I’m not fond of the extra padding around my abdomen.

So as time goes on, I only feel better and better about myself and about the way I look, with and without my clothes on. (Though it would be nice to actually have a backside. That is what roller blades are for.)

But then I knew going in that it would be work, and I knew there would be skin issues…which I suppose is the entire point of that article. I wasn’t lead to believe that losing the weight would turn my life into the kind of fairy tale the media assured me it would, and so I am not being let down by unrealistic expectations.

So give the article a read, and if you’re just starting out on the journey, don’t feel discouraged. You’re embarking on a huge change. Expect that. Embrace it. Take what it throws at you, and remember you are a work in progress, and that being a work in progress is beyond ok.

If you’re in the midst of your journey and are feeling a disconnect between what you expected and what’s happening, take the time to reevaluate yourself and your needs. The article seemed to imply that setting goals was a bad idea (because goals–*gasp*–can change!), but I disagree. Set a goal. Reach for it. And if later you find yourself thinking that you should reach for something different, then do so. Follow your bliss. You are an ever-growing, changing person, so why should your goals not be as fluid as you are?

2 thoughts on ““What No One Tells You About Losing Lots of Weight”

  1. I just went through the galleries on her website, and Julia Kozerski is my new hero! Her images are beautiful and I find comfort and inspiration in them. I always admire people who are proud of their body when it’s not ‘perfect’. When it looks more like a mothers or a sisters instead of the actors we see on TV. I admire her strength to do this project. Her body is, and was, beautiful, all along. Bravo!

    Thanks for sharing this link šŸ™‚

    • Astrid says:

      You’re welcome! I’m glad to hear it was useful to you.

      I think it’s wonderful that there is a growing number of people out there celebrating their bodies for what they are rather than hating themselves because they don’t conform to someone else’s definition of what they SHOULD be. Diversity, baby. It’s a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

