Familiar Territory

It’s not the same. My addiction doesn’t cause me to enter dangerous parts of the city late at night, looking for someone from whom I can purchase an illegal substance. It doesn’t involve needles or fire. It doesn’t make me dangerous to be out in public. It’s highly unlikely to cause me to steal from someone I love.

So it really is not the same. And yet I can relate.

This article is some very powerful stuff. It’s written by Russell Brand, whom I only know peripherally as some kind of celebrity, talking about addiction and addicts. In the wake of Philip Seymour Hoffman’s death, I think there are a lot of people out there with this sort of thing on their minds. I’m sure a fair portion of them are addicts or recovering addicts, thinking to themselves, “There but for the grace go I…”

Drug addiction may draw its victims out for years—but it kills comparatively quickly to my addiction. If I thought of cookies the same way I think of things like heroin…well, I might not have ever had cause to start this blog in the first place. So no, it is not the same. …but the effects, while subtler, more difficult to notice, and easier to pass off as nothing to worry about, are pretty damn similar.

I am still trying to find my way to any path that has a name in any way similar to “recovery”. I must check daily that I am still reaching for it, still searching for it in the dark.

The contents of that article are familiar territory. They are a good reminder of just how important it is that I’m trying to widen the map.

2 thoughts on “Familiar Territory

  1. coemaria says:

    I read the article and I agree with most of it. I just feel that, sometimes, food addiction isn’t taken as seriously. Hell, I saw a billboard yesterday talking about sex addiction and how there’s help for that. Where’s my in-patient help?! Nope. I have to have will power and just stop eating. When will people realize it isn’t that fucking easy.

    Sorry. Having a bad day, especially when it comes to food.

    • Astrid says:

      No need to apologize. I feel the same way. That was a point I wanted to make in the original post, but I wasn’t sure how to get there. So thank you so much for bringing that up. I wish I knew the answer.

Leave a Reply

