Status Update #11

Holy cow, it’s April! Time flies when you’re so busy that you’re too busy to realize how busy you are. And now, some numbers!

Weight on day of surgery: 239.2 lbs
Weight last month: 175.0 lbs
Weight today: 166.4
Total lost: 72.8

Today I reported bright and early for an esophagram. The last such test I underwent was conducted about two weeks after I had surgery. This was its one year post-op counterpart, and it was done for the same reason: To make sure my band is still right where it’s supposed to be. It is indeed, and my surgeon continues to be very thrilled with my weight loss progress. He told me today that I’ve lost approximately twenty percent more than the average for LAP-Band patients. I’m pretty proud of myself!

I’m still hoping I can lose a bit more. We shall see what progress I’m able to make now that it’s finally getting warm enough that I can start going for walks again. If nothing else, I would at least like to get down to 160 pounds so I can celebrate that 75 Lost mark.

In the meantime, I’m still working daily to not only carefully measure and portion my food, but to also keep constant track of how much I’m eating. It’s always tempting to be lazy about it…but I know that’s a ridiculously slippery slope. If I take even one step toward it, I’ll fall down it again. So mostly I just ignore those urges to be lazy. I don’t like where they lead.

I’ve also been working to stay between 1200 to 1500 calories a day, which is a plan my surgeon approves of. Between my vitamins and the fact that I’m eating, y’know, food and not processed garbage (I seriously lived on boxed macaroni and cheese for a couple of months just because it was so tasty), I feel like I’m in a pretty good place nutritionally speaking. Also, my hair is beginning to look like it’s trying really hard to return to its former glory, which is an incredibly good sign.

And now that I’m beyond the one-year mark with my band, it looks as though I’ll only be going in to see my surgeon once every two months instead of once a month (-ish). So I likely won’t be making another Status Update until June.

There’s not going to be a photo of me this month. You’ve sort of already seen me around this weight, anyway. Instead, here’s something I’ve been contemplating posting for a while.

I’ve mentioned before that I weight myself once a week to keep track of my progress? Here are my records of that. I have no idea if this is interesting to anyone but me, but this is what the last couple of years have looked like on my end.

Weight Notebook #1

From ye olde dayes ofe yore…

Weight Notebook #2

From a year and a half ago

Weight Notebook #3

The first sheet after surgery

Weight Notebook #4

The sheet from the crazy summer of 2013

Weight Notebook #5

The most current sheet

Leave a Reply

